About The Blog

“Media & Communications Policy” is a blog that strives to offer informed and thoughtful commentary on a variety of First Amendment and communications policy issues. The authors are avid observers and active participants in the communications policymaking process. Their observations on how the media affect and are affected by technology, commerce, politics, ideology, and social mores promise to be often provocative and always insightful – and not, we might add, beholden to the reigning ethos of political correctness.

About The Authors

Richard T. Kaplar

Richard T. Kaplar is President and CEO of The Media Institute in Arlington, Va. He has written, edited, or produced more than 40 books and publications on a wide variety of communications policy and First Amendment issues.

Areas of Expertise

  • Marketplace approaches to communications policy
  • First Amendment – freedom of speech and press
  • Media content controls; media ownership
  • Commercial speech


  • John Carroll University, Cleveland, Ohio; Bachelor of Arts in English (magna cum laude), 1973
  • The American University, Washington, D.C.; Master’s in Public Administration, 1977

Patrick D. Maines

Patrick D. Maines is President Emeritus of The Media Institute in Arlington, Va. He served as President and CEO from 1983 to 2017. In that capacity, Mr. Maines had designed and directed all of the Institute’s program activities and had formulated the Institute’s policy positions on a wide array of issues. Prior to joining The Media Institute, Mr. Maines pursued careers in corporate public affairs and publishing in New York City.

Areas of Expertise

  • Emerging technology
  • Copyright and intellectual property
  • Media competition and concentration
  • Content and structural regulation of the electronic media
  • First Amendment and freedom of speech